THE P WORD. 

Yes!!! That P word… I think it’s very common to hear this during weight-loss: hitting a plateau. 

So what exactly is it?

“As you lose weight, your metabolism declines, causing you to burn fewer calories than you did at your heavier weight. Your slow metabolism will slow your weight loss, even if you eat the same number of calories that helped you lose weight. When the calories you burn equal the calories you eat, you reach a plateau.”

In short, it means your weight doesnt change even though you have been working out really hard. It feels like you put in 100% effort but you see 0% results because you hit the plateau. Of course hitting a plateau is depressing/ saddening/ upsetting/ disappointing and etctec (*insert more synonyms*)

Normally you see generally ‘fatter’ / obese people lose weight faster than anyone else, but thinner people takes a longer time to lose those weight as compared to them. It’s about the same concept behind it.

Question, so what causes plateau?

Read here, and here.

So how to breakthrough plateau? 

Very good question because I don’t know either. Do give this a read! But I do know we cannot give up just cuz we hit the plateau! 

I heard fitness expert / gym junkie saying like play around with your calories intake per day. Like e.g: Lower your calories intake but up your work out plan or change your workout routine because your body is used to it. Therefore it isnt really changing… 

You can watch Blogilates’s video on do you know how often to change your work out. And read up more on hitting a plateau.

Honestly I hate that I always hit a plateau so quickly! Last year I was trying to cut 6kg off by running 3 times a week but I got stuck after shedding 4kg. Nothing went down. I has healthy salads /clean eating for lunch / dinner but just no breakthrough…

And this time round I am supposed to cut off 8kg but I only cut 3kg and stuck again… 

I’m here to tell you that it’s okay, it’s normal to hit a plateau during weightloss but it’s not okay to give up just cuz you encounter something like this!

So everyone working out hard out there, kick some ass okay! I’ll share somemore tips if I can manage to breakthrough my plateau ok!

Sorry, no videos today and I don’t think my detailed guides are coming out this week so stay tuned next week ok! Sorrrrryyyy!!!

Hope you guys managed to breakthrough your plateau and outdo yourself! All the best! 😀

Here’s some motivation from gyamholic:

 
                      

Here’s to all the people working (out) towards their goals! 

Leave a Reply

