HOW TO PLAN A PARTY?

(EDIT: MIGHT UPDATE WITH PHOTOS SOON)

Hoolas!! I’m back, with a ultra wordy post with no pictures. I’m gonna talk about how I planned my party, and preparations, and etc etc. Almost every thing you might need to know (or not), and that you can consider!

1. Venue

So the main issues would be the venue. Some people go for hotel suites, some people book their condo function room, some people do it at chalet, I picked my house. Reason being I didn’t plan on inviting a lot of people, and I wanted a cosy and intermate kind of party/celebration, and it’s easier to do it at home because I think at least I don’t have to buy and move to the hotel/function rooms/chalet. 

Advantage: I don’t have to pick up guests from hotel lobby, or security guard house (idk if there is a need). 

Actually I wanted NSRCC but transport was a problem, aranda was another issue because of the venue (too far from home and most of my friends stays in the west side), and no thanks to downtown east/aloha.

But if your number of guests is too many for your house to handle, pick Chalet then. I guest the downside about doing it at home is tidying and packing my house. I am serious lol. ($0 foc!)

2. Theme

After you decide on number of guests, and venue. It’s the theme. I initially wanted mickey mouse themed, black and gold, white and gold, navy and gold, etc etc. Weirdly, I ended up with something else. I guess seeing black and gold/white and gold was too common for 21st birthdays. Like most my friends went for the same theme. I wanted blue and red because it was my favourite two colour but it kinda feels like 4th of July instead of my 21st birthday instead. So I picked (click here on 1st sept because I’m keeping my theme as a secret.) this colours for my theme!

3. Food and drinks

After theme, comes food! My parents offered to cook but I think it’s too tiring for them (they add up too a 100 years old pair already), so I decided on catering + pizza. I picked mini buffet catering because my number of guests was smaller than usual 30. And I thought of having varieties too. Mini buffet + pizzas + cake = more than enough I guess? (About $100-$200)

I got my drinks from NTUC. 2 bottles of green tea, 1 sprite and 1 strawberry tea! (Under $5/6)

4. Cake

I haven actually decide my cake yet but I’m opening my options. Banana chocolate cake doesnt seems good enough..though it’s my favourite cake. But piece of advice, don’t pay so much money for fondants. They are just sugar, people. Yes it might be insta-worthier, but it’s not that healthy. (Not like cakes are healthy but fondant cakes are the worst.) ($40-$100)

5. Photos/videos

Now, photography/videography, no videographer but I have a boyfriend who has a DSLR and tripod and remote control, so I guess I’ll make do? I’ll probably step in as my own photographer for my party, because I’m too much of a perfectionist like this? I owned a polaroid camera and my best friend has polaroid camera too, so not much of a problem.

6. Guestbook

I got my guestbook from Typo (~$20-$30) and I DIY it myself, personalizing it, and writing messages for people to leave a note for me. I bought photoframe and did a note for people to take a polaroid and put it in the guestbook with their message! Got those nice markers/pens from popular for over $5-$6, and some washi tapes I collected over the years came in handy too!

7. Decor

My decors was pretty simple, I bought twines, (from qoo10) and Typo’s bunting (I chanced upon it while window shopping and bought it anyways.) and immediately on the spot I already eureka the font to match my buntings. Inspirations flowing through, so nicely. Got 2&1 foil balloons from Bugis, at $5 each, and got another 2 foil balloons (star and heart) at $5 each too. I print the fonts, and cut them myself, paste them myself (with the help of my meticulous mama lau) at 12am on one of the friday night.

8. Props

I also DIY my own photobooth props instead of buying ready made ones. Sometimes I could find people laughing at me. Like why trouble yourself when you can buy ready-made ones online or those craft stores. The feeling after you finish the props, is just so awesome. It’s like you did something for yourself, and it’s the fruit of your labour. I mean if you are ok with those ready-made ones, you can purchase them. For me, the ready-made ones are not up to my likings, therefore I DIY.

Hmm, did I miss out anything?

Oh wait. I also did my own invitation card, and wrote my own thank you cards for all my guests. I hope everything goes smoothly on that day itself, and I can then blog with more photos! Oh as for my outfit,

9. Outfit

I have not decided. Hehehe. 

(edit: decided already!)

Leave a Reply

